

# Minutes

Unscheduled Council Meeting Friday 22 November 2024 at 11:00 AM Gisborne Administration Centre 40 Robertson Street, Gisborne

# Order of business

1	Acknowledgement of Country	3
2	Recording of live streaming of this Council meeting	3
3	Present	3
4	Apologies	3
5	Conflicts of interest	3
6	Duration of Mayoral term	3
7	Election of Mayor	4
8	Office and Duration of Deputy Mayor	4
9	Election of Deputy Mayor	4

## MINUTES OF MACEDON RANGES SHIRE COUNCIL UNSCHEDULED COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE GISBORNE ADMINISTRATION CENTRE, 40 ROBERTSON STREET, GISBORNE ON FRIDAY, 22 NOVEMBER 2024 AT 11:00 AM

# 1 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

Macedon Ranges Shire Council acknowledges the Dja Dja Wurrung, Taungurung and Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Peoples as the Traditional Owners and Custodians of this land and waterways. Council recognises their living cultures and ongoing connection to Country and pays respect to their Elders past, present and emerging.

Council also acknowledges local Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander residents of Macedon Ranges for their ongoing contribution to the diverse culture of our community.

#### 2 RECORDING OF LIVE STREAMING OF THIS COUNCIL MEETING

Ladies and gentlemen,

This meeting is being recorded and streamed live on the internet in accordance with Council's 'Live Streaming and Publishing Recordings of Meetings Policy, which can be viewed on Council's website.

#### 3 PRESENT

Cr Jennifer Anderson, Cr Dominic Bonanno, Cr Cassy Borthwick, Cr Alison Joseph, Cr Kate Kendall, Cr Andrew Scanlon, Cr Janet Pearce, Cr Christine Walker, Cr Daniel Young,

#### IN ATTENDANCE

Bernie O'Sullivan (Chief Executive Officer), Adele Drago-Stevens (Director Corporate), Rebecca Stockfeld (Interim Director Assets and Operations), Rob Ball (Acting Director Planning and Environment), Maria Weiss (Director Community), Jessica Clarke-Hong (Manager Governance and Performance), Lucy Olson (Senior Governance Officer - Council Business)

#### 4 APOLOGIES

Nil

5 CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Nil

6 DURATION OF MAYORAL TERM

MOTION

#### Resolution 2024/156

Moved: Cr Jennifer Anderson

Seconded: Cr Dominic Bonanno

# That Council resolves to determine that the term of office of the Mayor will be for one year term.

CARRIED

# 7 ELECTION OF MAYOR

Chief Executive Officer, Bernie O'Sullivan, invited nominations for the office of the Mayor for 2024-2025.

Cr Joseph nominated Cr Bonanno for the office of the Mayor which was seconded by Cr Pearce.

Cr Bonanno accepted the nomination.

No further nominations were received and therefore Cr Bonanno was elected to the position of Mayor

## 8 OFFICE AND DURATION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

#### MOTION

#### Resolution 2024/157

Moved: Cr Jennifer Anderson Seconded: Cr Christine Walker

That Council resolves to elect a Deputy Mayor for a one year term in accordance with section 20(A) and section 26 (3) of the Local Government Act 2020.

CARRIED

#### 9 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Mayor Bonanno, invited nominations for the office of the Deputy Mayor for 2024-2025.

Cr Pearce nominated Cr Kendall for the office of the Deputy Mayor which was seconded by Cr Joseph.

Cr Kendall accepted the nomination.

Cr Young nominated Cr Walker for the office of the Deputy Mayor which was seconded by Cr Scanlon.

Cr Walker accepted the nomination.

No further nominations were received and the Mayor called for a vote.

Cr Kendall received 5 votes and Cr Walker received 4 votes.

As Cr Kendall received an absolute majority of votes she was elected to the position of Deputy Mayor.

#### The Meeting closed at 11:20am.

The minutes of this meeting will be confirmed at the Ordinary Meeting of the Macedon Ranges Shire Council held on 27 November 2024.